BP11

Standard

Growing up and going through the secondary education, I never really questioned what my schooling was for or even worth it until senior year. Etched in stone for the next step after high school for many of us is college. To be honest, I had never sat down and thought about alternatives to this path. My whole perspective changed in one class senior year. After the end, I would never be the same. Walking in at the beginning of the school year, groups form and choose a project to work on for the rest of the semester. In short, I was so engrossed in our project that I would often loose track of time while working. That semester I learned more in those late hours reading and exploring than any other class in my educational history. A need seed was planted and it was self-directed learning. Taking this experience with me to FIRST Robotics and sharing it their with important people at a luncheon where I represented students is what would turn out to be the pivot point in my life. From this encounter, I would welcome a handle full of new mentors into my life. I knew something had happened that day that would change my life but did I ever underestimate the impact of those relationships. Multiple internships, trips across America, a whole network foundation, and memories to last a life time are a few of the benefits that would come from my mentors.

Let us dive into one specific trip to San Francisco for an extended weekend. Uncollege is an organization that strives to show students that college is not the answer for everyone. They want everyone to hack their education and be in the drivers seat weather you are a drop out or an undergraduate. From then on out, I started questioning and becoming aware for what a college education really was and could be. Was my degree enough to get hired for a career? Could I take other paths? I began seeking out answers and attending conferences.

My question was sparked by the proposal of David Rey at TEDxOU 2014. He asked us the students to answer “What is a college education?”. I highly suggest watching the video. Why are you in college? Will your degree be enough? I know I am learning a lot about OSU CS Dept that I did not know. I will only say one thing and that is that they have never had ABET accreditation. We need to be informed about what we are investing are time and money into.

3 thoughts on “BP11

  1. I really agree with you, I think that there is this sort of idea going around that college is necessary for every student and without it you’ll never succeed in the job market.There are a lot of alternatives that, especially students that aren’t fond of the traditional education system, should know about but aren’t learning about due to the current paradigm.

  2. This is a major battle for people today, whether or not to go to college and is it worth it. Sometimes today people choose what to major in based off job availability whether or not they like it. They might not go for a major they want just because the job availablity is bad.

  3. I found what you wrote very interesting. I think I will actually watch that TedX video and look at that Uncollege organization that you learned so much from. Maybe I will learn some things as well!

Leave a Reply

